Make your own free website on

The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe

Written by C. S. Lewis

Illustrated by Pauline Baynes

Dedicated to Lucy Barfield, who Lewis was godfather to.


Four sibling children, Peter, Susan, Edmund and Lucy are sent to a large house during World War two to live with a kind old Professor. There they find a giant wardrobe in an empty room. The wardrobe leads to the land of Narnia. Once in Narnia, they find it is controlled by the White Witch, and it is always winter (without Christmas, no less). They learn that the true ruler of Narnia, Aslan the lion, will return to rescue Narnia from its eternal winter. However, Edmund betrays his siblings to the White Witch. The Witch knows she must kill the siblings because it has been fortold that Narnia will return to its true form when four Kings and Queens sit upon the four thrones at the castle of Cair Paravel. Aslan does return to Narnia and Edmund knows that he has wronged all of Narnia, but only by Aslan's sacrifice of death by the White Witch can Edmund be forgiven. The Witch slays Aslan at the Stone Table, but Aslan rises from the dead. Peter, Susan, Edmund and Lucy, along with Aslan's army of Narnians defeat the White Witch and her evil followers in battle. Narnia is saved. The siblings are appointed the Kings and Queens of Narnia. Many years pass and the siblings all grow up, and one day while hunting the White Stag, they find themselves stumbling back through the wardrobe in the Professor's house, and find that they are all children again.

You are visitor # to follow the Children through the wardrobe

Journey On!!! More Narnian Adventures Await! Long Live Aslan!

To Book 3: The Horse and His Boy
Meet Bree, the Horse..and Shasta...His Boy
Back to Beginning of the Chronicles of Narnia Pages
Back to Book 1: The Magician's Nephew
Back to Page 2 of Index
Back to Index Page